U.S. Marine Corps Dictionary

Sergeant of Marines

The second step in the noncommissioned officer ranks is indicated by three chevrons with crossed rifles. The pay grade is E-5 and is equivalent in the Army to a sergeant who wears three chevrons. In the Air Force, a staff sergeant wears four inverted chevrons with the top three covered at the angle by a blue field and a silver star. In the Navy and Coast Guard, the rank is petty officer second class and is indicated by two inverted chevrons under a Navy eagle, on the left arm only.

Leave a Reply


Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

About DevilDogCorps.com

DevilDogCorps.com is an unofficial online dictionary of terms and acronyms commonly used within the United States Marine Corps.